Gornergrat Bahn - Matterhorn

 

Home > Coronavirus

Travel safely in times of the Corona virus

We recommend that you arrive at the Gornergrat Bahn early, so that we can allocate the capacity in the best possible way. 

Travelling during the Christmas and holiday period: Reduced space on trains

As in previous years, during the Christmas and sports holidays, we can expect heavier use of the trains of the Gornergrat Bahn. In addition to the current protection concept for public transport with the general obligation to wear a mask, we also adhere to the requirements of the federal government for mountain railways. On the Gornergrat Bahn, the number of passengers will be reduced to around 50% of the maximum capacity of seats and standing room. The number of passengers inside the valley station of the Gornergrat Bahn in Zermatt will be limited to a maximum of 250. In the event of larger crowds, additional waiting rooms can be used in the Matterhorn Gotthard Railway station area opposite.

Avoid rush hours 

Despite these measures, it cannot be ruled out that individual trains will be very busy. Therefore, we appeal to personal responsibility and recommend that travelers switch to trains outside the rush hours. This is also because public transport is subject to a transport obligation and passengers must not be deterred from their journey. 

Protection concept - please observe the following rules

Avoid rush hour

If possible, avoid the most frequently used trains and switch to less frequented connections.

Keep your distance

Keep your distance at bus stops, in front of counters and at ticket machines. Leave space for people getting off and form an aisle in busy places. Make sure that the distribution in the vehicles is as good as possible. 

Wear a face mask.

A mask requirement is now in effect on the Gornergrat Bahn. 

Buy tickets online

Prepare for the journey: Consult the timetable. Buy your ticket, if possible online or from a ticket machine, and pay at ticket counters, preferably without contact. Keep the ticket handy for inspections.

Follow hygiene rules

Observe the rules of hygiene and conduct of the Federal Office of Public Health.

We clean regularly

We take care of the regular cleaning of the vehicles, especially of contact surfaces such as handrails, handles and buttons. Please support us by not leaving any waste in the vehicles and by disposing of the waste in the containers on the platforms.

                    “Clean & Safe” campaign

We continue to monitor the development of the situation and are ready to make any alterations that are deemed necessary.  We are also in close contact with the SBB (National Railway) who are the system leaders for all public rail transport.  

In addition, the guidelines of the Federal Office of Public Health campaign "How we protect ourselves" are crucial for us:

- Wash your hands frequently with soap and water or an alcohol-impregnated hand-rub. 
- Sneeze or cough into a fresh tissue or the crook of your arm.  After use, paper tissues must be disposed of in a closed rubbish container.
- Should you have a high temperature or a cough you must stay at home.  Only visit a doctor or the emergency department at a hospital after first telephoning them. 
- Avoid shaking hands with other people. 
- Keep your distance from other people. 

For further information please see here:

- Federal Office of Pulic Health

- Information Swiss Tourism

- Information Valais Tourismus

- Cantonal information and hotline

Gornergrat Bahn - Matterhorn

 

Home > Coronavirus

Voyagez en sécurité

Nous vous recommandons d'arriver tôt au Gornergrat Bahn afin que nous puissions répartir la capacité de manière optimale.

Voyager pendant les périodes de fêtes et de vacances : espace réduit dans les trains

Comme les années précédentes, pendant les fêtes de Noël et les vacances de carnaval, nous attendons une utilisation plus importante des trains du Gornergrat Bahn. Outre le concept de protection actuel pour les transports publics avec l'obligation générale de porter un masque, nous adhérons également aux exigences pour les remontées mécaniques. Au Gornergrat Bahn, le nombre de passagers est limité à environ 50 % de la capacité maximale des sièges et des places debout. Le nombre de passagers à l'intérieur de la station à Zermatt sera limité à 250 maximum. En cas d'affluence plus importante, des espaces d'attente supplémentaires peuvent être utilisées dans la zone de la gare Matterhorn Gotthard Bahn située en face.

Éviter les heures de pointe 

Malgré ces mesures, il n'est pas exclu que les trains individuels soient très chargés. Nous faisons donc appel à la responsabilité personnelle des passagers et recommandons de changer de train en dehors des heures de pointe. C'est aussi parce que les transports publics sont soumis à une obligation de transport et que les passagers ne doivent pas être empêchés d'effectuer leur voyage. 

Plan de protection - veuillez noter les règles suivantes

Eviter les heures de pointe

Evitez si possible les heures de pointe et optez pour les liaisons à plus faible fréquentation.

Respecter les distances prescrites

Maintenez les distances prescrites près des arrêts, devant les guichets et aux distributeurs de billets. Laissez de la place pour les gens qui descendent et formez une colonne dans des lieux très fréquentés. Veillez à une répartition aussi bonne que possible dans les véhicules.

Masque obligatoire.

Le port du masque est obligatoire dès à présent dans les transports publics. Portez un masque d’hygiène dans les véhicules, dans les gares et aux arrêts. 

Acheter son titre de transport à l’avance

Préparez-vous au voyage : consultez l’horaire en ligne. Achetez votre billet si possible en ligne ou à l’automate et payez au guichet sans contact. Gardez votre ticket à portée de main pour les contrôles.

Respecter les règles d’hygiène

Respectez les règles d’hygiène et de comportement de l’Office fédéral de la santé publique.

Nous renforçons les nettoyages

Nous assurons le nettoyage régulier des véhicules, en particulier des surfaces de contact comme les rampes, les poignées de maintien et les touches d’arrêt. Aidez-nous en évitant de laisser des déchets dans les véhicules et en éliminant vos déchets dans les conteneurs placés sur les quais.

                  La campagne «Clean & Safe»​​​​​​​

Nous observons l’évolution de la situation en continu et sommes préparés à d’éventuels changements. Nous travaillons en étroite collaboration avec les CFF qui assurent la gestion systémique des transports publics. 

En outre, les recommandations ainsi que les règles de comportement émises par l’Office fédéral de la santé publique dans le cadre de la campagne «Voici comment nous protéger» sont pour nous déterminantes: 

- Se laver les mains régulièrement à l’eau et au savon ou se les nettoyer avec un gel hydroalcoolique.
- Toussez et éternuez dans un mouchoir ou dans le creux du coude pour couvrir la bouche et le nez. Les mouchoirs usagés doivent être jetés dans une poubelle fermée.
- Restez à la maison en cas de fièvre et de toux. Ne vous rendez au cabinet médical ou au service des urgences qu’après avoir pris rendez-vous par téléphone.
- Évitez de serrer des mains.
- Gardez vos distances avec les autres.

Vous trouverez de plus amples informations aux adresses suivantes: 

- Office fédéral de la santé publique

- Informations Suisse Tourisme

- Informations Valais Tourisme 

- Informations & hotline cantonale